The New Jersey Board of Examiners of Electrical Contractors issues electrical licenses to qualified individuals who have passed a state exam. To take the exam, a combination of work experience and education is required. The license must be renewed every 3 years along with the business permit to operate. It is illegal to do electrical contracting without a license and business permit. There are some exceptions, including work under 10 volts, work on an individual house by the homeowner or immediate family. The Board of Examiners can reprimand and fine people and businesses for violating the rules and regulations.
A-1 Electric Co., Inc. is licensed by the state to perform electrical work and repairs. We must qualify for renewal every 3 years. To file an electrical permit for work on someone's home or office, you must be a licensed electrical contractor. Among the few exceptions, homeowners can file a permit to work on their own homes if they are the only residents. For example, if you own and live in a family house, you cannot do electrical work since it could endanger the other family.
A license does not guaranteed results. You need to evaluate any contractor for reliability and competence. If you don't understand something, you should ask. Even technical issues should be explained in a satisfactory way to you.
Helpful Hint: You can check on the validity and status of a license holder for electricians and other trades licensed in New Jersey. Call 24 hours a day: (973) 273-8090 . You will be prompted for the occupation code (190 for electrical contractors), or you can select from their list. Finally you provide the license number (8460A for A-1 Electric Co., Inc.)